Congratulations to the 2019 RPBG Nursing and Midwifery Awards winners

The 2019 RPBG Nursing and Midwifery Award winners
November 8, 2019

Congratulations to those nurses and midwives that were acknowledged for their commitment to excellence at the 2019 Royal Perth Bentley Group Nursing and Midwifery Awards.

Each finalist was nominated for demonstrating excellence in service, a commitment to delivering high-quality care to our patients and a can-do attitude that proves that no task is too big, or too small when it comes to excellent care.

Congratulations to the winners and grant recipients:

RPBG Nurse/Midwife of the Year – Amy Lee

Amy is a true role model with a strong work ethic, setting standards of professional practice and conduct that her peers strive to equal. She has the unique quality of advocating for her patients while seeking the best possible outcomes.

She has strong communications skills and demonstrates this with ease when interacting with her patients while they await medical plans. Amy is held in high regard by her peers across all disciplines for her professional conduct.

Tom Sten Award – Doug Downes, Enrolled Nurse

Doug is a valued member of the State Major Trauma Unit, who shows compassion, empathy and respect towards his patients and colleagues. Doug has been commended for his ability to deliver patient-centred care with kindness and respect in high pressure; high acuity settings.

Doug has strong leadership skills and is vigilant about staff training and development. He is a reliable and respected source of knowledge for the entire multidisciplinary trauma team.

RPH Ex-Trainees & Association Travel grant – Jonathon Burcham

The inaugural winner of the RPH Ex-trainees & Association Travel Grant, Jonathon Burcham will attend the 2020 International Conference for Emergency Nurses in Queensland to present on sepsis research at Royal Perth Hospital. Jonathon is keen to share his experiences with colleagues upon returning from the conference.

He is the Clinical Nurse Manager for the Centre for Clinical Research in Emergency Research; he is a member of the College of Emergency Nurses Australasia and a member of the EMHS Sepsis Working Committee – responsible for the design and implementation of the EMHS sepsis pathway across Armadale and Royal Perth Hospitals.

Graduate Transition Program Award: RPBG Graduate of the Year – Rhiannon Carpenter

Rhiannon was recognised for being a valuable, reliable, trustworthy and exceptional team member.

She is diligent about providing her patients with outstanding care despite the pressures of busy wards. Rhiannon has received many positive comments from patients, including personal thank you letters where she was commended for her skills in making the patient feel comfortable and at ease during a complex treatment.

SWEETest Nurse – Supportive Work Environment, Education and Training: Fiona MacDonald

Fiona was awarded for being an outstanding leader and role model to her colleagues and patients.

She was commended for her ability to instil confidence, expertise and competence in the RPBG staff she teaches and works alongside. Her person-centred approach to training allows her to engage with and challenge staff to identify solutions for training and clinical scenarios.

Fiona is an exceptional Nurse Educator who strives to make learning opportunities interesting and dynamic.

SWEETEST Ward of the Year – Supportive Work Environment, Education and Training: Imaging Nurses

Their submission was full of magical Royal Perth Hospital nurses who bewitched the judges with their wizardry-inspired short film.

You can watch the video here.

Congratulations again to our winners and finalists and thank you for the magic you bring each day to our staff and patients!